Tags

, , , ,

As I showed you a less exquisite Art Nouveau building yesterday, I figured it would be nice to show you a real beautiful one today! The building I picked is called “Restaurant at the Old Synagogue”. It is located in Josefov (Jewish quarter) in Prague.

Josefov (Josefstadt in German) is a town quarter of Prague (Czech Republic), formerly the Jewish ghetto of the town. It is completely surrounded by the Old Town. Most of the quarter was demolished between 1893 and 1913 as part of an initiative to model the city after Paris. What was left were only six synagogues, the old cemetery, and the Old Jewish Town Hall (now all part of the Jewish Museum in Prague and described below). And as all Josefov was re-built at the beginning of the 20th century, nowadays the dominant architectural style there is Art Nouveau.

In Austria Art Nouveau was called Secession Style. As also Bohemia was a part of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy at that time, the Art Nouveau buildings of Prague are also called secession buildings. Their architecture was influenced by the Vienna Secession.

Restaurant at the old synagogue

I took this photo about 5~6 years ago, and at that time I didn’t know that I was going to blog about Art Nouveau. So, in order to be able to show you more details of the building, I have borrowed below pictures from the www. I hope you like today’s building?!?

